On Wednesday (23/08/17),  we had held the Synergy event which was the student exhibition/showcase allowing students from various disciplines (animation, audio, film, games etc) to showcase their work.

Everyone in my studio 2 class was presenting their final trimester project (home project), and any other project they wished to showcase. I think only two classmates showcased an extra project (or two) during the exhibition. We were in the auditorium with the fellow game design students from different modules.

I was actually considering skipping the event at first since I still felt extremely fatigued from a nasty bout of influenza I had caught 2 weeks prior. Not to mention I was unsure how I was going to communicate since I had not fully recovered my voice either. However, this would be my first exhibition and I wanted to at least experience it. I figured worst case scenario if I felt too ill, I’d leave early since the event goes from 5.30pm until 8 pm.

We had everything set up prior to the event starting, although Acclim, the home project I was co-working on with Matt was proving to be a little uncooperative. Matt got it working in the end, for some reason, our first exhibition build had some bugs that were previously thought to be fixed. Matt managed to get everything fixed shortly after the exhibition started. It was hilarious seeing him come back, only to realize we already had someone testing our game. Since he left to try to fix some last-minute bugs, I was left to stand near the computers with the project just in case someone came by and wanted to try the game out. It was not even 10 minutes yet when I was approached by someone who wanted to try the game out. I did have to explain I had lost my voice recently while explaining the controls of the game and how to start it. He was very interested in the concept of the game and the process leading up to the final product.

Overall, he enjoyed the experience, why we chose to go with a narrative heavy route and listening to how our concept kept evolving to its final form. He did mention the trigger boxes we had on our interactive items were small, the light switch, in particular, was guilty of this which we acknowledged. He expressed interest in seeing the game being fully polished and fleshed out.

He was very interested in the concept of the game and the process leading up to the final product. Overall, he enjoyed the experience, why we chose to go with a narrative heavy route and listening to how our concept kept evolving to its final form. He did mention the trigger boxes we had on our interactive items were small, the light switch, in particular, was guilty of this which we acknowledged. He expressed interest in seeing the game being fully polished and fleshed out.

We even had someone who said he was a former lecturer at the campus, before leaving to work elsewhere. His feedback was that he felt there was not enough drama in the game, and wanted a more interactive experience such as being able to interact with the apartment more or meeting other characters. He asked if either Matt or I had business cards, which neither of us did, unfortunately. We mentioned that Matt was on twitter while I had a blog, and offered to give our details for those. He declined and told us he would return in December and check on our progress then.

We did have fellow classmates coming over to check the game out as well. Overall though, we did not get much traffic since we were close to the far end of the room. Most people stayed near the front of the room playing the games there. At least we had some people play the game and give us some feedback.

The most common feedback we had heard was the complaint about the font coloring, they found the red/green text too difficult to read. Followed by the very small trigger boxes as it made it difficult to interact with objects, in particular, the light switch.

I did end up leaving 15 minutes prior to the event ending as I was reaching my limit with my exhaustion reaching an all time high. I didn’t get a chance to check out the works of other students other than glimpses here and there. I did enjoy the various conversations with fellow students when we had little traffic heading towards our games. Overall, I had a good experience at the Synergy event.

